O’Neill Superfreak Review

Editors Review
out of 5 stars

Average Users Review
out of 5 stars (29 customer reviews)

Share your thoughts with other users
Create your own review

 oneill superfreak review
Video Reviews at the bottom of page

Over the last few weeks I have been testing out the superfreak wetsuit from O’Neill. This wetsuit was put through its paces in waters of 9c. Factor in the February wind chill means it’s been tested in some frigid conditions. The superfreak is O’Neill’s entry level wetsuit, which features a chest zip and retails for £150 for the 5/3mm, £140 for the 4/3mm , £130 for the 3/2mm. This wetsuit also comes in Womens and youth sizes. Features Seams: The seams throughout this wetsuit are glued and blind stitched, there’s no seam taping, or silicon seals. Only time will tell if the glued and blind stitched seams will hold up. However, for now there was no leakage through the seams. superfreak glued blind stitched seams

Chest Zip: The zip on this wetsuit feel chucky, very robust, didn’t leak water and the zip is already physically linked together. To zip up the wetsuit, it’s simply a case of pulling the zipper to close it. Due to the zip already being connected, this eliminates any need to fix together the zip to close it. To add additional seal to the wetsuit, the shoulder has been fitted with a pull cord. This prevents water from entering the inside of the wetsuit from the chest entry panel. To get in and out the wetsuit was an easy process, mainly due to the ample space you have to climb into. O’Neill have developed a cross panel at the back, when stretched makes the width of the hole to climb in larger. I even think for larger guys, this chest entry wouldn’t be a problem to use. I’m a midget, but I have a large chest and I was fine.

superfreak front zipsuperfreak neck seal Shoulder cord

superfreak shoulder cord Collar: The collar has a rolled finish to the edge, and features a very soft to touch material. This soft material didn’t cause me any rashes or discomfort, and the collar seemed a nice tight, but comfortable seal. rolled neck superfreak Drain Holes: If water does pass through the collar, the water runs in-between the cross panels and the collar panel. The water then runs out of a drain hole in the back. There is also a drain hole located on the upper arm of the wetsuit. superfreak drain hole back Warmth Stuff: Inside the Superfreak there is a polypro lining (fleecy material) inside the wetsuit to retain body heat. The same panel is coupled with rubbery material on the outside of the wetsuit. So the polypro retains heat on the inside and the rubbery glide skin wicks away water to prevent wind chill on the outside. I felt the glide skin and poly pro added a little extra weight to the wetsuit. Nonetheless, this stuff really did keep me warm; I thought it was a great benefit to the wetsuits performance. superfreak chest poly pro lining Flexibility: The Superfreak is made up of 40% ultra-flex neoprene and 60% fluid-flex neoprene which is 40% stretch. It seems that O’Neill have used the high grade neoprene where it counts, on the upper body, paddle zones and arms. The only panelling to receive the less flexible stuff was the lower front and back of the wetsuit. I have always used top of the range wetsuits as I’m a believer that you pay for what you get. However, the Superfreak really did show me that this was a misconception in this case. The wetsuit felt like it was made from 100% full flex neoprene; it was really that comfortable and flexible. I didn’t notice any lack of performance in the wetsuit whatsoever.

Knee Pads: The knee pads feel very robust and have a Kevlar kind of ruff feel to them. They moulded around the knees to give a nice position and fit on the knee.

Key pocket: On the leg there is a keypocket which is easily accessible, it’s just a case of attaching your key to the loop and placing the key inside the pouch. Cons: The only problem I had with this wetsuit is the wrists would ride up and flush a bit of water, but this wasn’t a massive issue.

Verdict: The overall performance of this wetsuit was astonishing for the price, it kept me very warm in extremely cold conditions and it was super comfortable. However, after about twenty uses the rubber paneling located at the front and back of the wetsuit has started to peel away; this has really let the wetsuit down.  However, I have contacted O’Neill and they are going to fix or replace the wetsuit. It seems that i’m not the only person with this particular issue, as my friend and other users of the wetsuit have also had the same issue.

Split Seam

superfreak wetsuit fault

Adam Robinson
O'Neill Superfreak Wetsuit
3
Editor's RatingAvg. Customer Rating
Overall
Durability
Stretch
Comfort
Warmth

, , ,

29 Responses to O’Neill Superfreak Review

  1. pete March 25, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    I own this wetsuit in the 3mm version and have used it over last summer. It is really comfortable and flexi. The collar gives me rashes though

    Overall Rating:

  2. Ash March 25, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    I agree with the review, its a good little wet suit, good stretch and warm, but thats where it ended for me. If your superfreak dont fall to bits, i guess its a super wetty. The wet suit was great for a few sessions then the seams started to peel away from the body area.

    I had a right nightmare with the retailer i bought it from, they said i had misused the wet suit and refused to refund me, they tried to charge me for the repair. I had to go through O’Neill who were very helpful indeed and they replaced the wet suit straight away. However, all their great service was undone because the same issue happened again with the replacement wet suit. O’Neill are going to fix it, but its a nightmare being without a wet suit!

    I think this is issue is a serious design fault. I havent even used the wet suit that much. I had the oneill heat before this wet suit and it lasted years. Whats happened to oneill wet suits! At least their customer service is good, or i would be shafted!

    Overall Rating:

  3. Shaun Bower March 26, 2013 at 11:39 am #

    I got mine from king of watersports for a good price. Been wearing the superfreak all winter and its been sweet as. I havent had any problems with mine like the review above, only the wrists slide up on a big sets, but apart from that its a sick wetty

    Overall Rating:

  4. Alistair Gall March 26, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

    Cant fault this wetsuit at all been using up here in Scotland. Its a good price especially when you buy it in the sale like i did. Got mine for just over £100. has all the spec you need for cold water surfing. I have only had mine for a few months so cant comment on toughness, but pleased with it.

    Overall Rating:

  5. stu March 26, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    first wetsuit i have ever owned, so cant compare to others. Used in woolacombe and Croyde and was nice and warm. I wasnt sure about the getting in the neck bit but the guy at the Woolacombe surf shop told me it was easy and was much better than a zip on the back. i tried it on and getting in and out was a bit wierd but it was my first wetsuit. i find the wetsuit easy to get in, getting out is a bit harder but i have the idea now so its easy. the only problem i have with the wetsuit it pinches under the arms, everywhere else fits fine.

    Overall Rating:

  6. shit wetsuit March 26, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

    had this piece of crap of a wetsuit for a few days and the seams started to peel away from the rubber panel at the front. Might have been unlucky, but after one surf this should not happen! I got refunded and got the xcel xflex which is still doing me proud.

    Overall Rating:

  7. cantsurf March 26, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

    just buy this wetsuit and ignore all the negative posts! Of course products can develop faults but saying the wetsuit is shit because it fails after a few sessions doesnt mean its a shit wetsuit! If it was replaced and the wetsuit didnt fall to bits like mine hasnt, you would think differently! I agree with the guy who has written the review, its a good wetsuit even though its budget range.

    Overall Rating:

  8. solid as a rock March 27, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    totally stocked with my superfreak!!!!! Its a bit expensive at over $200 but well worth the investment.

    Overall Rating:

  9. semiretarded March 27, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    A great little wetty for the price. Not all chest zips have this price point; you are normally talking serious money. I have been in water off the bay and its very flexible and kept me extremely warm in cold water. Another good thing about this edition of the superfreak is that O’Neill seems to have addressed issues with the neck lining. This was a weak point on last seasons superfreak because it would tear over time. This one is going strong!

    Overall Rating:

  10. xavier March 27, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    I owned the mutant which was a bad ass suit. Using the 4.3 superfreak suit here in Cali at half moon bay. It’s so flexible and warm and feels better than the mutant and its cheaper.

    Overall Rating:

  11. So far so good – surpassed expectations March 27, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    Its set at such a good price its hard to think that its going to have any quality behind it! Was sceptical because oneill wetsuits are normally a rip off. So far after a few months in the water its done superbly well. One morning the sand was like rock due to the cold, water must have been 8c and air -1c with off shore winds of around 12mph.

    I was wearing hoods, gloves and boots but the suit kept me quite warm for around 90 mins. I think it would have kept me warmer, but it was one of those days where sitting around was happening more than catching waves.

    The only issue I have with the suit is that water did build up in the back of the suit after duck diving through sets. I think this is partly down to the back flush system that traps water inside. Nontheless this water drains out, so not a major issue.
    So if you are looking for a chest zip which isn’t a rip off? I don’t need to say the rest!

    Overall Rating:

  12. Sebastián March 27, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    Traje de neopreno Fantástico, me mantiene caliente aquí, en España. Con el traje de neopreno 4xmm todo el invierno

    Overall Rating:

  13. ok for me March 27, 2013 at 10:34 pm #

    I would recommend this wetsuit for sure. I like oneill suits

    Overall Rating:

  14. Crap April 2, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    this started to split around the torso and lower back within a few uses. It then let in water and i was given a replacement which did the same issue.

    Overall Rating:

  15. looks good value April 2, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    for the price this wetsuit on the surface looks good, but soon the cracks appeared. When i say cracks i mean literally! The rubber chest panel started to come away, it looks like the glue wasn’t applied well. If this hadnt happened i would have given the wetsuit a 5 stars because it seemed like good value and it was warm and flexible to use.

    Overall Rating:

  16. Harris April 2, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    This is the second oneill wetsuit i have owned and i’m well chuffed with it. During 7 months use its still firing on all cylinders. Its super warm and stretchy the only thing that lets it down is get some water flush up the arms.

    Overall Rating:

  17. Mafalda Ferreira April 2, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

    Yo compro este traje para las mujeres y su cómodo y se ve bien. que mantenerme caliente en invierno frío españoles.

    Overall Rating:

  18. not the deal for me April 8, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

    Wetsuit started to peel away from the rubber bit on the front after 3 surfs. Replaced and did the same thing. It felt really nice on as well! what a let down

    Overall Rating:

  19. super April 15, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    After owning this wetsuit for a while now i’m still really impressed with it. It wasnt super expensive compared with some oneill wetsuits and it does everything a wetsuit is meant to do. I would recommend it. I really like the review!

    Overall Rating:

  20. alex April 16, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    Once the wetsuit is on its great, its just getting out of it which is a pain for me. I’m a big lad and its a right ball ache to get out of. Maybe not a problem for you small whipper snappers

    Overall Rating:

  21. Iain April 22, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    I have been buying oneill wetsuits for many years, the reason keep buying is because they fit me very well and they last. ok they my not be the cheapest wet suits on the market but you pay for what you get. Im surprised that people have had issues with this wetsuit because mine has been the dogs balls since i got it. saying that all products develop faults, this is because they are made by humans. what counts is that the company puts mistakes right. My friend had a psycho 2 which developed a fault and o’neill replaced the wet suit. hes still in the same suit today.

    I really like the super freak and would recommend with a blink of an eye. brilliant stretch warmth (here in ice scotland) and its a good price.

    Overall Rating:

  22. sarah hesketh April 22, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    I have the female version of the wetsuit. I think the only difference between the mens and womens are graphics, colours and fitting, so i hope my review is valid!

    I have the 5mm superfreak all year round and in the summer in wales i was too hot. I’m quite skinny and its rare that i have ever been warm in the water. In the winter time i was also pleasantly surprised to find that i could once again enjoy winter surfing.

    The zipper is very easy to get into, getting out at first was a bit strange but once you have done it a few times its real easy. It fits me like a second skin and doesn’t let in water, sometimes there’s dry patches inside. I have used Roxy and Billabong before and the superfreak is my favorite by far. I do like Roxy design better, but looking great doesn’t count for much if you aren’t warm.

    Overall Rating:

  23. steve April 24, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    I had the same issue with the rubber tearing away from the wetsuit. I sent mine back to the shop i bought it from and they replaced it. It has been a great other than that. Keeps me nice and toasty here in SA

    Overall Rating:

  24. Kevin May 2, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    Really like this review its good that there’s honest opinions from somebody who is reviewing these wetsuits. I had the exact same problem with this wetsuit and i was surprised because i had a o’neill before any it was rock solid. I got mine replaced with a Excel by the shop as they didn’t have another O’neill in stock. The xcel is still ok.

    Overall Rating:

  25. fernando aiza May 9, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    use this in spain it really good to use and warm. winter has been cold but cold keep out sider of wet suit. i know this wetsuit is good

    Overall Rating:

  26. kelly slater May 15, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

    I havent had any issues with my wetsuits. I have tow of the bloody things, a 4mm and a 3mm and both are 2 years old and fine. Great wetsuit!

    Overall Rating:

  27. Ali June 24, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

    I have been buying oneill wetsuits for a life time and they have never let me down. The 3
    mil version of the superfreak has been just as good as past editions of any oneill wetsuit i have owned. Its on it 3rd season and still in good nick!

    Overall Rating:

  28. Super super July 12, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    Just bought the 3mm version from a shop in Perenporth. Totally awesome wetsuit for the price

    Overall Rating:

  29. Max May 17, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

    badass wetty

    Overall Rating:

Add Comment Register



Leave a Review

12345

Current day month ye@r *